follow SSBG on Facebookfollow CAMP K on Facebookfollow BAC on TwitterSSBG Galvestonfollow BAC on Pinterestfollow BAC on YouTube
                                                                                                                                    FOLLOW US FOR MORE FUN STUFF


Bay Area CouncilAdvancement


Here is where you will find everything you need to gain Advancement.

Internet Advancement

Boy Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and steps in overcoming them through the advancement method. The Boy Scout plans his advancement and progresses at his own pace as he meets each challenge. The Boy Scout is rewarded for each achievement, which helps him gain self-confidence. The steps in the advancement system help a Boy Scout grow in self-reliance and in the ability to help others. Visit the Internet Advancement site.


Scout Advancement

Advancement is the process by which a Scout progresses from rank to rank in the Scouting program. It is simply a means to an end and not an end in itself. Everything done to advance and earn higher ranks is designed to help the Scout have an exciting and meaningful experience. The advancement method is designed to encourage a young man to accomplish a progressive series of fun and educational tasks. Earning merit badges allows Scouts to explore many fields, helps them round out their skills, and perhaps introduces them to subjects that will become lifelong interests or rewarding careers.


Cub Scouts

Find rank info here

Tigers Cub - 1st grader (or age 7) and adult partners. 15 requirements in each of 5 areas
Bobcat - for all boys who join Cub Scouting.
Wolf - must have completed first grade (or age 8). 12 achievements
Bear - must have completed second grade (or age 9). 12 or 24 achievements over 4 categories.
Webelos - must have completed third grade (or age 10).
Arrow of Light - The highest rank in Cub Scouting 


Boy Scouts

For information on available advancements and requirements please click here

For policies related to Rank Advancement click here

Scout Badge (Boy Scout joining requirements)


Second Class 

First Class 

Star Scout 

Life Scout 


Eagle Scouts


Eagle Rank application 

Eagle Service project workbook 

National Eagle Scout Association (NESA) application 

NESA scholarship applications 

Eagle palms


Eagle Board of Review

Please see your individual District pages to get your Eagle Scout projects approved, and to find out where to turn in your Eagle Scout form, etc.


Merit Badges

A special part of a Scout's learning adventure, merit badges are awards presented to a Scout when he completes the requirements for one of the merit badge subjects. There are more than 100 merit badges a Scout may earn. The subject matters range from vocational and careers introduction to personal development, hobbies, sports, high adventure, citizenship, and life-skills development. Every merit badge is designed to teach the Scout new skills while outwardly encouraging him to challenge himself and have fun in the process. Merit badges offer a range of difficulty over a breadth of subject matters, and a Scout is free to pursue any merit badge he wishes. The merit badge itself is a simple embroidered patch, but the intangible end result of earning it is that the Scout gains self-confidence from overcoming obstacles to achieve a goal. Find out about the Merit Badge program here.

Merit Badge Counselors

For a list of Current Merit Badge Counselors, please email Pam Frisbee at

Find the Merit Badge Counselor application here


Take Care of Texas Patch

The Take Care of Texas Award recognizes Scouts who are doing their part to conserve water and energy, keep our air and water clean, and reduce waste. The Award shows a commitment to both learning and educating others on how we can keep our state great. Find out more about earning the Take Care of Texas Patch HERE.