bac TRANSPARENT LOGO   Facebook  Facebook  Instagram  Pinterest Twitter YouTube 

                                    Support Scouting      Sign up for the eNewsletter! bac TRANSPARENT LOGO   Facebook  Facebook  Instagram  Pinterest Twitter YouTube 

                                    Support Scouting      Sign up for the eNewsletter!


Bay Area CouncilAdvancement


Find out about advancement including how to record it, ranks and much more.

NEW! Internet Advancement 2.0 is here

The new tool to quickly input advancement data, Internet Advancement 2.0 (previously known as Scoutbook Lite) is now live. This free solution replaces the previous Internet Advancement platform, which will be retired (for all programs except Exploring) on June 10, 2019.

Internet Advancement 2.0 will feature a clean, new user interface and will be optimized to whatever device you use: desktop, tablet or smartphone.

Internet Advancement 2.0 will offer optimized functions for everything found in the current Internet Advancement platform and can be accessed by Unit Key 3 users, Unit Key 3 delegate users and Unit Advancement Chairs.

End users will access Internet Advancement 2.0 via one of the following locations using their my.Scouting credentials:



Scout Advancement

Advancement is the process by which a Scout progresses from rank to rank in the Scouting program. It is simply a means to an end and not an end in itself. Everything done to advance and earn higher ranks is designed to help the Scout have an exciting and meaningful experience. The advancement method is designed to encourage a young man to accomplish a progressive series of fun and educational tasks. Earning merit badges allows Scouts to explore many fields, helps them round out their skills, and perhaps introduces them to subjects that will become lifelong interests or rewarding careers.


Cub Scouts

Find rank info here

Tigers Cub - 1st grader (or age 7) and adult partners. 15 requirements in each of 5 areas
Bobcat - for all boys who join Cub Scouting.
Wolf - must have completed first grade (or age 8). 12 achievements
Bear - must have completed second grade (or age 9). 12 or 24 achievements over 4 categories.
Webelos - must have completed third grade (or age 10).
Arrow of Light - The highest rank in Cub Scouting 


Boy Scouts

For information on available advancements and requirements please click here

For policies related to Rank Advancement click here

Scout Badge


Second Class 

First Class 

Star Scout 

Life Scout

Web Banner Scout folio bottom

Sign up for our eNewsletter!

Sign up Web Banner Scout folio bottom